My letter to South Derbyshire

Dear Neighbour,

I was delighted to be asked by the Liberal Democrats to contest South Derbyshire for them at the General Election. Even in the short time so far it’s been wonderful getting the opportunity to meet people from across South Derbyshire and hear about their concerns.

I grew up in South Derbyshire, was one of the first students to study for their A Levels at Swadlicote’s Pingle School and then went on to study for a degree. I’ve enjoyed a 30 year career in business, and was delighted to be able to return to my roots in South Derbyshire in 2003.

Since then I’ve really enjoyed getting back into the local community. South Derbyshire has fantastic local community groups, churches and charities and I love being a part of them, getting to meet and serve people from across the area and hear their stories.

I have a particular interest in mental health and dementia. I’m a Time To Change Champion to help raise awareness of and destigmatise mental illness, and a Dementia Friends Champion where I run information sessions and work to create dementia-friendly communities.

I think it’s important that South Derbyshire gets more affordable and social housing built to provide for the local community. But they shouldn’t just be built anywhere with no thought. We should be bringing brownfield land back into use and supporting these homes with the schools, healthcare and other local facilities their community needs. South Derbyshire needs the jobs to go with these houses, too. I’d like to see sustainable development and increased use of renewable energy sources across South Derbyshire, protecting our environment and creating more green jobs.

I’d love to have your support to help the Liberal Democrats and me to deliver all this and more for South Derbyshire. Please get in touch if you’d like to help with our campaign!

Best wishes,

Lorraine

